Glorious conditions saw over a third of the field beat the hour in Round 9 of the SB Sports Injuries Series Wrekinsport CC’s 25 with personal bests the order of the day. With bonus points on offer for the longer distance it was Dean Callister who came out on top with a fabulous effort of 53 minutes 8 seconds on the Crudgington – Shawbirch – Tern Hill – Waters Upton course. The Nova Raider narrowed the gap at the top of the standings to just 12 points as he consolidated his second place in the Championship with just a light north-easterly wind to cope with. Callister was pleased with his effort, stating: “Great conditions and a fast night, I paced it well so was very happy with my time. It was a 25 mile personal best for me – thanks to Wrekinsport for a top evening”.

Callister wasn’t the only rider to set a personal best as runner-up Adam Baker also beat his previous benchmark with a fine effort of 54:17. Whilst much of the course is flat Baker’s comments show how the Hodnet bypass can catch out the unwary with a long, sapping drag back to Espley island, and how being ‘on the rivet’ of Functional Threshold Power, highest average wattage arider can sustain for one hour is a painful experience: “The race went well with a one minute personal best, although it’s only my second 25 mile event. It was a tough course with slow sections of road and a headwind on the way out. 25 mile events are tough! Tying to hold close to FTP for an hour isn’t pleasant – still fun nonetheless”.

Wrekinsport were holding their club 25 mile championship within the event and it was a straight battle between Tomos Hales and Chris Halford, with Hales taking third spot overall in 54:39 and Halford two places back in 55:07. Hales had his sights set on this trophy whilst enjoying the first use of Wrekinsport’s new HQ, Eyton Village Hall: “An excellent hosting from Wrekinsport and a great new HQ, I was pleased with the time on a quick night. I was very happy to take the trophy as I targeted this event at the start of the year – thanks to all the marshals and timekeepers”.

The rider getting in between Hales and Halford was Bridgnorth CC’s Jonathan Mills-Keeling in an actual time of 54:47, and who also took victory in the Veteran’s Series with a strong +15:09 with Halford runner-up in +12:36. Mills-Keeling is a regular visitor to Wrekinsport 10’s but seemed to enjoy the stretch, commenting: “A nice course, I had a great ride, thanks to Wrekinsport and all involved”.

The Series leader Henri Bedford had a quiet evening by his standards finishing 6th in 55:35, but stretching his Junior Series lead to a huge 86 points. He explained: “I didn’t quite have the legs for some reason but I tried to limit my losses as best as I could – thanks to Wrekinsport for running the event as smoothly as ever”.

In the Women’s Series it was a case of coming up with the goods in the face of adversity as nothing seemed to be going right for Series leader Marie Llewellyn – as the Nova Raider scored a massive personal best regardless. Llewellyn stopped the clock on 1:07:07, stretching her Series lead over Wrekinsport’s Clare Cotterill who finished in 1:12:33. Llewellyn explained what went wrong: “Everything was against me for racing! I’d worked three night shifts with no sleep, and my boyfriend was pushing me to race when I just wanted to sleep! I ended up borrowing his shoes as I’d left mine in my horsebox, added to which my Garmin computer dying 10miles in! I thoroughly enjoyed the race, I was racing blind to power and heart rate, but I felt strong and put 100% in. I’m very happy with a new personal best by five minutes -thank you to the organisers once again”!

Full result:

1Dean CallisterNova RaidersS00:53:0826
2Adam BakerSCCA Private MemberS00:54:1724
3Tomos HalesWrekinsport CCS00:54:3922
4Jonathan Mills-KeelingBridgnorth CCV00:54:4720
5Chris HalfordWrekinsport CCV00:55:0718
6Henri BedfordRevolutions RacingJ00:55:3516
7Mark PritchardNova RaidersS00:56:4414
8Rob KennardStourbridge VeloV00:58:17.
9Rob JacksonWrekinsport CCV00:58:4212
10Darren ShawSCCA Private MemberV00:59:4810
11Phil RobertsWrekinsport CCS00:59:538
12Ian BondWrekinsport CCS01:00:156
13David MoleStourbridge VeloV01:00:28.
14Allan HendersonWrekinsport CCS01:01:334
15Mark HammondBridgnorth CCS01:02:344
16Mike BigwoodWrekinsport CCS01:03:144
17Ben WoodWrekinsport CCS01:03:464
18George CoombesSCCA 1st ClaimS01:04:304
19Dave MooreWrekinsport CCV01:06:344
20Marie LlewellynNova RaidersW01:07:074
21Ben SouthgateWrekinsport CCJ01:07:344
22Elliott WillsWrekinsport CCS01:08:334
23Mark StocksNewport Shropshire CCV01:09:014
24Richard SouthgateWrekinsport CCV01:12:044
25Clare CotterillWrekinsport CCWV01:12:334
26Victoria DoranWrekinsport CCWV01:13:224
27Stuart WortleyWrekinsport CCV01:19:044
28John RowlandsWrekinsport CCV01:19:284
29Stephen Porter-KnottWrekinsport CCV01:21:034
30Clare O’DonnellWrekinsport CCWV01:23:564


Pos’nNameClubCatTimeVet +/-
1Chris Riley & John WestheadParamount CRTV/V00:56:17+11:09


Vets Pos’nNameClubCatVet +/-Vets Points
1Jonathan Mills-KeelingBridgnorth CCV+15:0926
2Chris HalfordWrekinsport CCV+12:3624
3Rob JacksonWrekinsport CCV+10:5722
4Rob KennardStourbridge VeloV+10:50.
5Darren ShawSCCA Private MemberV+07:4320
6David MoleStourbridge VeloV+07:03.
7Dave MooreWrekinsport CCV+03:0518
8Clare CotterillWrekinsport CCWV+00:1616
9Mark StocksNewport Shropshire CCV+00:0614
10Victoria DoranWrekinsport CCWV-00:5812
11John RowlandsWrekinsport CCV-04:0510
12Richard SouthgateWrekinsport CCV-05:098
13Clare O’DonnellWrekinsport CCWV-09:036
14Stuart WortleyWrekinsport CCV-09:084
15Stephen Porter-KnottWrekinsport CCV-15:034


Women’s Pos’nNameClubCatTimeWomen’s Points
1Marie LlewellynNova RaidersW01:07:0726
2Clare CotterillWrekinsport CCWV01:12:3324
3Victoria DoranWrekinsport CCWV01:13:2222
4Clare O’DonnellWrekinsport CCWV01:23:5620


Junior Pos’nNameClubCatTimeJunior Points
1Henri BedfordRevolutions RacingJ00:55:3526
2Ben SouthgateWrekinsport CCJ01:07:3424

Cumulative Standings after nine rounds


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Henri Bedford Revolutions Racing J 150
2 Dean Callister Nova Raiders S 138
3 Tomos Hales Wrekinsport CC S 74
4 Chris Halford Wrekinsport CC V 56
5 Adam Baker SCCA Private Member S 52
5 David Griffiths Oswestry Paragon CC S 52
7 Mark Pritchard Nova Raiders S 44
8 Jonathan Mills-Keeling Bridgnorth CC V 42
9 James Satoor Mid Shropshire Wheelers J 38
10 George Coombes SCCA 1st Claim S 32


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Chris Halford Wrekinsport CC V 102
2 Jonathan Mills-Keeling Bridgnorth CC V 86
3 Rob Jackson Wrekinsport CC V 66
4 Andy Rose Nova Raiders V 56
5 Gino Trasatti North Shropshire Wheelers V 46
6 Mark Stocks Newport Shropshire CC V 38
7 Jenny Newton Nova Raiders WV 34
8 Gareth Brookes North Shropshire Wheelers V 32
9 Jenny York Mid Shropshire Wheelers WV 30
10 Oliver Rodwell Wrekinsport CC V 28


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Marie Llewellyn Nova Raiders W 118
2 Clare Cotterill Wrekinsport CC WV 78
3 Jenny Newton Nova Raiders WV 58
4 Helen Tudor Oswestry Paragon CC WV 52
5 Clare O’Donnell Wrekinsport CC WV 42
=6 Deb Hutson-Lumb Nova Raiders WV 36
=6 Victoria Doran Wrekinsport CC WV 36
8 Jenny York Mid Shropshire Wheelers WV 34
9 Pauline Hughes Revolutions Racing WV 24
=10 Alison Dockney Market Drayton CC W 20
=10 Alison Salthouse SCCA Private Member WV 20
=10 Charlotte Chapman Nova Raiders W 20
=10 Emma Horne Wrekinsport CC WV 20


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Henri Bedford Revolutions Racing J 166
2 Harry Corney Market Drayton CC J 80
3 James Satoor Mid Shropshire Wheelers J 52
4 Ethan Campbell Newport Shropshire CC J 38
5 Ben Southgate Wrekinsport CC J 36
=6 Ben Pierce Mid Shropshire Wheelers J 18
=6 Nathan Fullwood Bridgnorth CC J 18
=8 Cerys Blowers Mid Shropshire Wheelers WJ 14
=8 Luka Stolic Wrekinsport CC J 14