It was a day of celebration for birthday boy Tomos Hales as he not only took the win in Round 16 of the SB Sports Injuries Series; he sealed the Series title too. After a season-long battle with Bridgnorth CC’s Jonathan Mills-Keeling, Wrekinsport CC’s Hales made it a day to remember as he turned the big 3-0, stopping the watch on 21 minutes 29 seconds in Shropshire Cycling Clubs Association Autumn 10 No.2. Held on The Tiddly triangle, Hales pushed out visiting rider Peter Lindfield of Tactic Sport UK Race Team by 18 seconds. Hales was delighted with his afternoon’s work, stating: “A good win on my birthday, it was nice to get the time trial gear back on again after a little break. Thanks for Mid Shropshire Wheelers for hosting. It was good to seal the SB Series with a win; there have been so many great races all over Shropshire this year. It’s been a good battle with Jon each week, thanks for everyone involved throughout the year”.

Mills-Keeling added Overall Silver to his SB Veterans title with a fine effort of 22:18 on actual and +4:33 on Veteran’s Standard, taking the County Veterans win on the day. He was in reflective mood over the season-long friendly rivalry which has finally been resolved: “It’s been a great season racing against Tomos all year, well done to him for the win. I was very pleased to have won the County Veterans, thanks to all for putting on”.

But Mills-Keeling didn’t take the Overall Veterans win. That honour belonged to visiting rider Sally Cunliffe of Ruthin CC, making her first trip to the Tiddly circuit and posting a fine +4:43, 10 seconds the better of Mills-Keeling. Not only that; she also took the Overall win in the Women’s category too with a solid 26:42. She was pleased with her afternoon out to Shropshire, which promotes early and late-season 10’s to stretch the racing year, something not available in much of the country. She stated: “Having taken part in a full season of time trials, mainly in North Wales, it was nice to try a different course, The Tiddly. The name alone attracted me!  Having managed to reconnoitre only a small part of the course it was with some anxiety that I approached the start line. The weather was pretty kind, as were the traffic levels and the gradients. I was delighted to be the fastest lady and the fastest Veteran, many thanks to the organisers and helpers and for the delicious homemade cakes“!

Hafren CC’s Jan Davies took the Women’s honours amongst SCCA-affiliated clubs posting 27:03 to take the maximum 20 points on offer – and move into the Silver medal position in the process. The distance to the second turn can confuse a few unfamiliar with the course – but Davies had cannily worked out another way of recognising it was coming up: “The second time this Series on the Tiddly triangle, favourable weather but a headwind out slowed me down a bit. Fortunately I found my stride on the return leg. I kept my head down until I smelt the chicken farm – left turn for home run and cake”!

But that late charge wasn’t enough to stop Deb Hutson-Lumb sealing the Women’s Series – and having hung up her racing wheels for the season she was unaware she had done enough to take the Championship – though not without a plea: “I’ve not been keeping track of the SB Series points so surprised but pleased to win the Women’s. It would be really great to see more women racing the Series in 2023”.

In the Juniors it was a head-to head between Chester Romei and Ben Southgate. Southgate has already been named as Junior Champion but here Romei took the win in 23:37 by a 25 second margin to tighten his grip on the Silver medal position. He stated: “A great race and amazingly set up! Good weather but a slow outward leg, so pleased to take the win”.


1Tomos HalesWrekinsport CCS21:2920
2Peter LindfieldTactic Sport UK Race TeamS21:47.
3Jonathan Mills-KeelingBridgnorth CCV22:1818
4Oliver RodwellWrekinsport CCV22:2816
5Simon RomeiParamount CRTV22:3114
6Bryn DaviesHafren CCV22:3412
7Paul DuncanMid Shropshire WheelersV22:5610
8Phil RobertsWrekinsport CCS23:068
9Graham NoblePirate Juice CCV23:09.
10Chester RomeiNorth Shropshire WheelersJ23:374
11Ben SouthgateWrekinsport CCJ24:032
12Ian CookChester RCS24:07.
13Mark HillHafren CCV24:332
14Stan ElmittFibrax Wrexham RCV24:37.
15Jason ArnoldOswestry Paragon CCV24:382
16Jan KardaszFibrax Wrexham RCV25:37.
17Chris BowersMid Wirral WheelersV25:37.
18Simon JonesHafren CCV25:572
19Peter FletcherOswestry Paragon CCV26:352
20Sally CunliffeRuthin CCWV26:42.
21Jan DaviesHafren CCWV27:032
22Tanya SamuelsFibrax Wrexham RCWV27:43.
23John RowlandsWrekinsport CCV34:162


Vets Pos’nNameClubCatVet +/-Vets Points
1Sally CunliffeRuthin CCWV+4:43.
2Jonathan Mills-KeelingBridgnorth CCV+4:3320
3Bryn DaviesHafren CCV+4:1218
4Simon RomeiParamount CRTV+3:5616
5Oliver RodwellWrekinsport CCV+3:4614
6Graham NoblePirate Juice CCV+3:32.
7Chris BowersMid Wirral WheelersV+3:31.
8Paul DuncanMid Shropshire WheelersV+3:2712
9Stan ElmittFibrax Wrexham RCV+2:53.
10Mark HillHafren CCV+2:3910
11Jan KardaszFibrax Wrexham RCV+2:29.
12Tanya SamuelsFibrax Wrexham RCWV+2:25.
13Jason ArnoldOswestry Paragon CCV+2:188
14Jan DaviesHafren CCWV+2:156
15Simon JonesHafren CCV+0:394
16Peter FletcherOswestry Paragon CCV+0:212
17John RowlandsWrekinsport CCV-4:092


Women’s Pos’nNameClubCatTimeWomen’s Points
1Sally CunliffeRuthin CCWV26:42.
2Jan DaviesHafren CCWV27:0320
3Tanya SamuelsFibrax Wrexham RCWV27:43.


Junior Pos’nNameClubCatTimeJunior Points
1Chester RomeiNorth Shropshire WheelersJ23:3720
2Ben SouthgateWrekinsport CCJ24:0318

Cumulative Standings after sixteen rounds


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Tomos Hales Wrekinsport CC S 234
2 Jonathan Mills-Keeling Bridgnorth CC V 214
3 Dean Callister Revolutions Racing S 120
4 Ben Southgate Wrekinsport CC J 80
5 Mark Pritchard Revolutions Racing S 72
6 Bryn Davies Hafren CC V 70
7 George Coombes SCCA Private Member S 60
8 Dan Watts SCCA Private Member S 56
9 Oliver Rodwell Wrekinsport CC V 48
10 James Neale North Shropshire Wheelers V 44


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Jonathan Mills-Keeling Bridgnorth CC V 230
2 Deb Hutson-Lumb Wrekinsport CC WV 100
3 Bryn Davies Hafren CC V 82
4 Darren Shaw SCCA Private Member V 58
5 Chris Riley Paramount CRT V 50
6 Karen Sherriff Nova Raiders WV 48
7 Oliver Rodwell Wrekinsport CC V 44
=8 Jenny Newton Nova Raiders WV 38
=8 Tim Beardmore Bridgnorth CC V 38
=10 Ashley Kirkham Wrekinsport CC V 36
=10 James Neale North Shropshire Wheelers V 36


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Deb Hutson-Lumb Wrekinsport CC WV 100
2 Jan Davies Hafren CC WV 78
3 Helen Tudor Oswestry Paragon CC WV 62
4 Karen Sherriff Nova Raiders WV 58
5 Jenny Newton Nova Raiders WV 44
6 Clare Cotterill Wrekinsport CC WV 40
7 Clare O’Donnell Wrekinsport CC WV 36
8 Elaine Beckett North Shropshire Wheelers WV 26
=9 Hayley Wells Paramount CRT W 20
=9 Nicki Doherty Ludlow CC W 20
=9 Robin Jones Bridgnorth CC W 20
=9 Vikki Jones Oswestry Paragon CC WV 20


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Ben Southgate Wrekinsport CC J 168
2 Chester Romei North Shropshire Wheelers J 40
=3 Cerys Greaves SCCA Private Member WJ 20
=3 Harry Corney North Shropshire Wheelers J 20
=3 Nathan Fullwood Bridgnorth CC J 20