A win in Round 15 of the SB Sports Injuries Series saw Dean Callister capture a medal, only the third to be resolved with two rounds remaining. Callister earned Overall Bronze in Shropshire Cycling Clubs Association’s Autumn 10 No.1 thanks to a strong effort of 21 minutes 36 seconds on a windy but sunny day on the Tiddly triangle, coping best with the 3.9 mile battle out to Hodnet island. The Revolutions Racing rider beat nearest challenger Jonathan Mills-Keeling by 49 seconds after digging in to punch through the north-westerly, the most hampering direction on this course, affecting the first three-quarters, and was pleased with his ride, stating: ”A strong headwind out to the first turn which made it a hard start, but a nice clear day. Happy with how I paced it and pleased to take the win, thanks for everyone involved and the organisers for a great afternoon”.

Mills-Keeling tightened his grip on the Overall Silver medal position setting up a straight head-to-head tussle with Tomos Hales for the Overall Series over the remaining brace thanks to his 22:25 effort, pushing out Hafren CC’s Bryn Davies by 10 seconds. Mills-Keeling has already captured the SB Veterans Championship and took the win in this category with +4:26, 15 seconds ahead of Davies when the age-adjusted standard had been applied. After missing the last three rounds he was clearly happy to be back competing: “Nice to be back on local roads, but it was a tough wind. Well done to Dean on the win; and thanks to all for putting on the racing”.

Davies’ Veteran’s runner-up spot lifted him into the Bronze medal position in this championship, and he can just potentially overhaul Deb Hutson-Lumb for the Silver – but it’s a tough ask with a maximum 40 points available and a 36 point deficit. He was happy with third spot Overall thanks to his 22:35 ride, stating: “A lovely afternoon for racing, a bit of a headwind going out but a dry sunny day otherwise. Not been on the time trial bike for a few weeks so pretty pleased with the result considering. Thanks to everyone involved in organising and marshalling, and well done to everyone who raced”.

In the Women’s competition a first-time entrant saw immediate dividends as Hayley Wells took a fine win by a 1:46 margin from Helen Tudor in 25:02. The Paramount CRT rider has been active on the hill climb scene but tried a different challenge, having to push hard into the nagging wind: “This was my first attempt at the Tiddly triangle and its fair to say it was straight into the red zone from the start! No respite during the short loop, with the wind being against us for the majority. I was delighted to have come away with fastest lady on the day though; and thanks again to all who gave up their afternoon to help”.

In the Junior Series Ben Southgate has already taken the Gold medal, but tried his luck against some of the County’s fastest; stopping the watch on 24:43 to tie for sixth spot Overall. Southgate was another to notice the effect of the wind, stating: “Very strong winds but I pushed through”.


1Dean CallisterRevolutions RacingS21:3620
2Jonathan Mills-KeelingBridgnorth CCV22:2518
3Bryn DaviesHafren CCV22:3516
4Graham NoblePort Sunlight CCV23:16.
5Simon RomeiParamount CRTV23:3214
6Jason ArnoldOswestry Paragon CCV24:4312
6Ben SouthgateWrekinsport CCJ24:4312
8Hayley WellsParamount CRT25:028
9Mark HillHafren CCV25:066
10George CoombesSCCA Private MemberS25:084
11Phillip BlackwellStourbridge CCV25:33.
12Chris BowersMid Wirral WheelersV26:09.
13Jan KardaszFibrax Wrexham RCV26:21.
14Simon JonesHafren CCV26:352
15Helen TudorOswestry Paragon CCWV26:482
16Chris MarrsMid Shropshire WheelersV27:262
16Jan DaviesHafren CCWV27:262
18Tanya SamuelsFibrax Wrexham RCWV28:35.
19John RowlandsWrekinsport CCV34:122
.Allan HendersonWrekinsport CCSDNS.
.Rob GarbettWrekinsport CCVDNS.


Vets Pos’nNameClubCatVet +/-Vets Points
1Jonathan Mills-KeelingBridgnorth CCV+4:2620
2Bryn DaviesHafren CCV+4:1118
3Graham NoblePort Sunlight CCV+3:25.
4Chris BowersMid Wirral WheelersV+2:59.
5Simon RomeiParamount CRTV+2:5516
6Helen TudorOswestry Paragon CCWV+2:5314
7Jason ArnoldOswestry Paragon CCV+2:1312
8Mark HillHafren CCV+2:0610
9Jan DaviesHafren CCWV+1:528
10Jan KardaszFibrax Wrexham RCV+1:45.
11Tanya SamuelsFibrax Wrexham RCWV+1:06.
12Phillip BlackwellStourbridge CCV+0:46.
13Chris MarrsMid Shropshire WheelersV+0:406
14Simon JonesHafren CCV-0:034
15John RowlandsWrekinsport CCV-4:052


Women’s Pos’nNameClubCatTimeWomen’s Points
1Hayley WellsParamount CRT25:0220
2Helen TudorOswestry Paragon CCWV26:4818
3Jan DaviesHafren CCWV27:2616
4Tanya SamuelsFibrax Wrexham RCWV28:35.


Junior Pos’nNameClubCatTimeJunior Points
1Ben SouthgateWrekinsport CCJ24:4320

Cumulative Standings after fifteen rounds


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Tomos Hales Wrekinsport CC S 214
2 Jonathan Mills-Keeling Bridgnorth CC V 196
3 Dean Callister Revolutions Racing S 120
4 Ben Southgate Wrekinsport CC J 78
5 Mark Pritchard Revolutions Racing S 72
6 George Coombes SCCA Private Member S 60
7 Bryn Davies Hafren CC V 58
8 Dan Watts SCCA Private Member S 56
9 James Neale North Shropshire Wheelers V 44
10 Darren Shaw SCCA Private Member V 42


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Jonathan Mills-Keeling Bridgnorth CC V 210
2 Deb Hutson-Lumb Wrekinsport CC WV 100
3 Bryn Davies Hafren CC V 64
4 Darren Shaw SCCA Private Member V 58
5 Chris Riley Paramount CRT V 50
6 Karen Sherriff Nova Raiders WV 48
=7 Jenny Newton Nova Raiders WV 38
=7 Tim Beardmore Bridgnorth CC V 38
=9 Ashley Kirkham Wrekinsport CC V 36
=9 James Neale North Shropshire Wheelers V 36


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Deb Hutson-Lumb Wrekinsport CC WV 100
2 Helen Tudor Oswestry Paragon CC WV 62
=3 Jan Davies Hafren CC WV 58
=3 Karen Sherriff Nova Raiders WV 58
5 Jenny Newton Nova Raiders WV 44
6 Clare Cotterill Wrekinsport CC WV 40
7 Clare O’Donnell Wrekinsport CC WV 36
8 Elaine Beckett North Shropshire Wheelers WV 26
=9 Hayley Wells Paramount CRT W 20
=9 Nicki Doherty Ludlow CC W 20
=9 Robin Jones Bridgnorth CC W 20
=9 Vikki Jones Oswestry Paragon CC WV 20


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Ben Southgate Wrekinsport CC J 150
=2 Cerys Greaves SCCA Private Member WJ 20
=2 Chester Romei North Shropshire Wheelers J 20
=2 Harry Corney North Shropshire Wheelers J 20
=2 Nathan Fullwood Bridgnorth CC J 20