A first ever event under the Bridgnorth CC banner saw riders take on the sapping climb of Five Chimneys, Hughley in the 10th and penultimate round of The Little Sweetpea Gardens/BBR Opticians Hill Climb Series. This 0.9 mile climb averages 7.8% and gets almost imperceptivity steeper the nearer the top you get, making that final effort a lung-bursting one. Roared on by two local club runs on a cool morning riders faced the added difficultly of a brisk south-westerly wind that saw John Woodward take the win by a strong margin of over 14 seconds and another medal be decided. Woodward stopped the watch on 4 minutes 18.1 seconds to take his first ever win an was pleased that he had learnt how to punch through the pain barrier after entering many rounds of this popular season-closing Series. He stated: “I seem to have figured out how to better suffer as I do more of these. A first time win in what is my first Series competing, I’m so happy that the training is providing what I need! I quite enjoyed the climb and it suited me well – thanks to Bridgnorth CC for the organisation, and well done to all that took part”.

Taking the maximum 20 points on offer for affiliated riders saw Wrekinsport’s Tomos Hales narrowly beat the promoting club’s Scott Palmer by 2.2 seconds with a fine effort of 4:32.3, meaning that he sealed Overall Silver, the only medal won on the morning meaning there are seven medals in play for the final round in Newport CC’s promotion on Station Road, Ironbridge. Hales revealed that he competed whilst under the weather, but the presence of a large number of club mates looking on meant putting on a show was the order of the day. He commented: “It was great to take second up Five Chimneys as I wasn’t feeling 100%. A well organised and run event by Tim Beardmore for Bridgnorth CC, I was very chuffed to take Silver overall with the top climbing talent we have in Shropshire. An awesome Series taking in all the top hills in the county, thanks to all that made it happen”.

Palmer meanwhile was pleased to take the win in the Veterans category in 4:34.5, beating Paramount CRT’s Chris Riley into the runner-up spot in 4:53.7. Palmer made a late entry to the Series after injury kept him away, but he was pleased with his club’s first promotion and his effort, stating: “The inaugural Bridgnorth CC hill climb: I’m glad to be the first Bridgnorth CC winner, thanks to all that supported us. I was pleased to be first Veteran but could have probably gone a little more to get second Overall”. Riley meanwhile lifted himself into the Silver medal position in the Veterans Series and with a 12 point lead looks set to crystallise that in the final round.

Robin Jones took the Women’s win with her first ever try at the discipline, posting a fine 6:15.8 climb, but was sorry that a few other females didn’t give her some competition: “The Five Chimneys hill climb was my first hill climb event. It was great to challenge myself on a local hill and bag a personal best, but it would be great to see more women next time – thanks to the organisers”.


1John WoodwardUnattachedS4:18.1.
2Tomos HalesWrekinsport CCS4:32.320
3Scott PalmerBridgnorth CCV4:34.518
4Robbie DisneyLudlow CCS4:37.516
5Chris RileyParamount CRTV4:53.714
6Tim CullinanBridgnorth CCS5:05.212
7Ben ThompsonWrekinsport CCS5:19.710
8Robin JonesBridgnorth CCW6:15.88
9John GlanvilleNorth Shropshire WheelersV6:19.66

Veterans on Actual:

Vets Pos’nNameClubCatTimeVets Points
1Scott PalmerBridgnorth CCV4:34.520
2Chris RileyParamount CRTV4:53.718
3John GlanvilleNorth Shropshire WheelersV6:19.616


Women’s Pos’nNameClubCatTimeWomen’s Points
1Robin JonesBridgnorth CCW6:15.820

Cumulative standings after ten rounds

Overall Top 10:

Position Name Club Cat Best 6
1 Kirk Vickers Holohan Coaching RT S 120
2 Tomos Hales Wrekinsport CC S 102
3 Jack Young Oswestry Paragon CC J 84
4 Robbie Disney Ludlow CC S 82
5 David Scott Mule CC S 76
6 John Hines Newport Shropshire CC V 60
7 Scott Palmer Bridgnorth CC V 56
8 Louis Lermite Mule CC J 50
=9 Ben Pierce Mid Shropshire Wheelers J 44
=9 Chris Riley Paramount CRT V 44
=9 Mason Durant Paramount CRT S 44

Veteran’s Top 10:

Position Name Club Cat Best 6
1 John Hines Newport Shropshire CC V 114
2 Chris Riley Paramount CRT V 90
3 Neil Coles Oswestry Paragon CC V 78
4 Peter Jukes Mid Shropshire Wheelers V 66
5 James Davies Mule CC V 60
6 Scott Palmer Bridgnorth CC V 40
7 James Griffiths Clee Cycles V 18
=8 Des Pugh Hafren CC V 16
=8 John Glanville North Shropshire Wheelers V 16
=8 Mark White Mid Shropshire Wheelers V 16
=8 Rob Kerr Oswestry Paragon CC V 16
=8 Steve Minton Ludlow Brewery RT V 16

Junior Top 10:

Position Name Club Cat Best 6
1 Jack Young Oswestry Paragon CC J 116
2 Joseph Lycett Mid Shropshire Wheelers J 70
3 Louis Lermite Mule CC J 60
4 Ben Pierce Mid Shropshire Wheelers J 56
5 Luka Stolic Wrekinsport CC J 36
6 Tom Hyde Newport Shropshire CC J 34
7 Ben Southgate Wrekinsport CC J 32
8 Harvey Griffiths Ludlow Brewery RT J 18
=9 Cameron Pember Ludlow Brewery RT J 16
=9 Noah White Mid Shropshire Wheelers J 16

Women’s standings:

Position Name Club Cat Best 6
1 Alison Dockney Market Drayton CC W 100
2 Robin Jones Bridgnorth CC W 20
=3 Clare Cotterill Wrekinsport CC WV 18
=3 Elizabeth Breeze Mule CC WV 18
=3 Sally Ellis Mule CC W 18
=6 Sue Taylor Mule CC WV 16
=6 Victoria Doran Wrekinsport CC WV 16