Shropshire Cycling Clubs Association’s traditional end of season presentation awards rounded off a memorable year as time trialling returned in earnest, with around 90 riders gathering from all points of the County and Welsh borders country to support 2022’s winners. As is normal for this event club runs converged from all directions to Ellerdine Village Hall, with attendees enjoying hot food and drinks whilst catching up with other riders thanks to the efforts of a hard working village hall committee who are big supporters of the County racing scene.

Proceedings were opened by SCCA Chair Helen Tudor welcoming guests, reflecting on some great competition throughout the year and introducing Guest of Honour Sue Bowler, until recently Chair of CTT, the sport’s governing body. Sue handed out the medals and trophies which cover many disciplines, distances and categories, giving riders plenty to aim at, with lots of support from the attendees before moving on to present the major annual trophies.

Biggest winner of the day was Tim Beardmore, who took home the Cliff Ash Best all Rounder Trophy for the first time after being runner-up in 2020 and 2021, and the Veteran’s Best all Rounder Trophy he won in 2020, as well as retaining the  Shropshire Championship Shield and Shropshire Veterans Championship Shield. Deb Hutson-Lumb helped herself to three trophies despite a quiet year by her standards, recapturing the Women’s Best all Rounder Trophy she last held in 2019, Women’s Inter-Club Trophy she last held in 2020, and The Gordon Davies Women’s Trophy she last won in 2019.

If there has been one rider who has significantly improved in 2022 the nomination must go to Tomos Hales, who has been committed to racing all over the County at all disciplines. This hard work saw him take home three trophies for the first time: The SB Series Inter-Club Trophy, The 50 mile Trophy, and the Hill Climb Trophy.

Team competition is something which keeps time trialling fresh as racing with another is a completely different experience. The popular 2-Up Series saw Paramount pair Chris Riley and Rob McGregor capture the Series for the first time, and Market Drayton-based pair Sarah Grant and Mark Milton capture the Mixed Team 2-Up Trophies. This was a final farewell for Canadian Grant as she is shortly to return home and will be a loss to County cycling. Bridgnorth CC took home the fiercely fought for John Farr 4-Up Shield, whilst Wrekinsport CC won the Women’s equivalent, also taking the Top Club Award for the first time since 2014 in a determined effort to recapture past glories to round off their 100 year celebrations.

Before the ceremony ended their was a surprise for North Shropshire Wheelers’ Phil Guy as Sue Bowler presented him with a CTT Certificate of Honour for many years of tireless organising and helping put on events in the County – a richly deserved award.

Major 2022 winners

Tim Beardmore: Cliff Ash Best all Rounder Trophy, Veteran’s Best all Rounder Trophy, Shropshire Championship Shield, Shropshire Veterans Championship Shield; Deb Hutson-Lumb: Women’s Best all Rounder Trophy, Women’s Inter-Club Trophy, The Gordon Davies Women’s Trophy; Tomos Hales: Inter-Club Trophy, 50 mile Trophy, Hill Climb Trophy; Ben Southgate: Junior Best all Rounder, Junior Inter-Club Trophy, The Jack Pitchford Trophy; Emma Serjeant: Brian and Gill Morrison Trophy, Women’s 50 mile Trophy; Alex Hart: The Alan Roberts Junior Trophy, Juniors Hill Climb Trophy; Helen Tudor: Shropshire Women’s Championship Shield, Women’s 100 mile Trophy; Chester Romei: Buz Hughes Shield, Shropshire Junior Championship Shield; Jonathan Mills-Keeling: Veteran’s Inter-Club Trophy, Presidents Trophy; Mason Durant: Jack Parker 100 mile Trophy; Dan Watts: The Gordon Davies Trophy; David Griffiths: Freeston Trophy; Hayley Wells: Women’s Hill Climb Trophy; Chris Riley: Jim Heath Trophy; Steven Prince: Veterans Hill Climb Trophy; Chris Riley & Rob McGregor: 2-Up Trophies; Sarah Grant & Mark Milton: Mixed Team 2-Up Trophies; Jan Davies & Olivia Hughes: Women’s 2-Up Trophies; Bridgnorth CC: John Farr 4-Up Shield; Wrekinsport CC: Women’s 4-Up Trophy, Top Club Award.