It felt like coming full circle as Shropshire Cycling Clubs Association celebrated 50 years of racing history, with the winner of the very first SCCA-promoted event in 1973 handing out the medals in 2023 as Guest of Honour. Mid Shropshire Wheelers’ John Aston had won that first race, a 25 mile time trial; and came along to Ellerdine Village Hall to see just how much the Association has expanded in its 50 year history, with 37 awards in play along with a wide selection of medals and one-off trophies going to this year’s winners. As usual riders and supporters came along from all parts of the County and beyond on a chilly morning, many via club runs enjoying the warm hospitality of the village hall committee who provided well received food and drink before the ceremony got under way.

SCCA Chair Helen Tudor welcomed guests and introduced the Guest of Honour, reflecting on reaching the 50 year milestone and some terrific battles for trophies throughout the season. John handed out individual medals and trophies covering a rich diversity of racing, from Championships over the ‘Standard’ distances of 10, 25, 50 and 100 miles; Points Series; popular team time trials; Hill Climbs; Road Racing; Cyclo-Cross; and the Best all Rounder competition before moving on to present the major annual trophies, with riders cheered on by the supportive audience.

Biggest winner of the day was Wrekinsport’s Deb Hutson-Lumb, who took home a staggering seven trophies; including The Women’s Best all Rounder Trophy, The Shropshire Women’s Championship Shield, The Shropshire Veterans Championship Shield, The Women’s 50 mile Trophy and Jim Heath 50 mile Veteran’s Trophy, The Brian and Gill Morrison 25 mile Women’s Trophy, and The Gordon Davies Women’s 10 mile Trophy; clearly showing her all-round ability. In then long distance stakes Victor Chetta recaptured The Cliff Ash Best all Rounder Trophy, The Veteran’s Best all Rounder Trophy, and The Jack Parker 100 mile Trophy; with Hayley Wells helping herself to The Women’s 100 mile Trophy for the first time.

Tim Beardmore took The Shropshire Championship Shield and 50 mile Trophy in another strong season for the Bridgnorth CC riders, with team mate Eddie Corbett capturing The Road Race Trophy. Two Juniors largely carved up the trophies available to younger riders between them, with Wrekinsport’s Ben Southgate taking The Junior Inter-Club Trophy, The Junior Hill Climb Trophy, and The Buz Hughes Shield; whilst Paramount’s Chester Romei took home The Junior Best all Rounder Cup and The Shropshire Junior Championship Shield.

Team competitions were keenly fought, with the popular 4-Up format seeing Paramount CRT take both Overall honours with The John Farr 4-Up Shield, and their Women’s team capturing The Women’s 4-Up Trophy. With the introduction of road bike categories part way through the year by time trialling governing body CTT a new Road Bike 4-Up Trophy for clubs entirely made up of riders on this type of bike saw Bridgnorth CC be the first to put their name on that new trophy. Wrekinsport CC took the last Trophy handed out on the day, recapturing The Top Club Award for the second year running.

Major 2023 winners alphabetically

Becky Griffiths: Women’s Hill Climb Trophy; Ben Southgate: Buz Hughes Shield, Junior Inter-Club Trophy, Junior Hill Climb Trophy; Bridgnorth CC: Road Bike 4-Up Trophy; Chester Romei Junior Best all Rounder Trophy, Shropshire Junior Championship Shield; Chris Riley: Veteran’s Inter-Club Trophy; Dave Scott: Hill Climb Trophy; Dean Callister: The Gordon Davies Trophy; Deb Hutson-Lumb: Brian and Gill Morrison Trophy, Jim Heath Trophy, Shropshire Veterans Championship Shield, Shropshire Women’s Championship Shield, The Gordon Davies Women’s Trophy, Women’s 50 mile Trophy, Women’s Best all Rounder Trophy; Eddie Corbett: Road Race Trophy; Hayley Wells: Women’s 100 mile Trophy; Helen Tudor: President’s Trophy, Women’s Inter-Club Trophy; Mark Hill and Jan Davies: Mixed Team 2-Up Trophies; Mason Durant and Paul Duncan: 2-Up Trophies; Paramount CRT: John Farr 4-Up Shield, Women’s 4-Up Trophy; Steven Prince: Veterans Hill Climb Trophy; Tim Beardmore: 50 mile Trophy, Shropshire Championship Shield; Tomos Hales: Freeston Trophy, Inter-Club Trophy; Victor Chetta: Cliff Ash Best all Rounder Trophy, Jack Parker 100 mile Trophy, Veteran’s Best all Rounder Trophy; Victoria Doran and Mollie Roberts: Women’s 2-Up Trophies; Wrekinsport CC: Top Club Award.