Plans for a Prees – Battlefield 25 had to be truncated in Round 7 of the SB Sports Injuries Series due to road works in Hadnall – but it would have been unlikely that the evening produce a course record in the re-badged North Shropshire Wheelers Hawkstone 10. The lumpy circuit features a testing climb past Hawkstone Follies, with Jonathan Mills-Keeling shaving two seconds of Rich Kay’s 2018 benchmark with 23 minutes 32 seconds. Mills-Keeling had a superb evening out, taking the win in the Veteran’s Series too with +3:25 and extending his lead, whilst taking over the lead in the Overall SB Series on a fabulously warm evening.

The Aerologic rider beat Mid Shropshire Wheelers’ Devon Round by 10 seconds in a close contest, with Mills-Keeling enjoying taking a record. He stated: “A perfect evening. I was expecting the Battlefield 25 but road works stopped that. It was nice to do the Hawkstone 10 for a change, a really interesting and fun course. I was delighted to get the win and the course record, thanks to North Shropshire Wheelers for putting on”.

Round had ridden the course earlier in the year in a club 10 and was also expecting the 25 mile course on arrival, but thankfully Norths had requested a reserve. He set a solid time of 23:42, showing just how tough and technical this circuit is. He commented: “A really challenging 10 course, a very different effort to the 25 that was initially planned. I spent too much on the first climb and faded towards the end but fun nevertheless. Congratulations Jonathan on the win and Course Record”!

The final podium spot went to Chris Riley who took third overall and runner-up in the Veterans with 24:16 and +3:08 respectively. He just beat Road Bike winner Dan Watts by three seconds, in his first appearance of the season. Riley enjoyed his race, stating: “The North Shropshire Wheelers’ Hilly 10 course is brilliant and I felt like John Wayne swaggering up that hill on my time trial bike. A lovely evening; and I am in awe of Jonathan’s performance and course record – thanks North Shropshire Wheelers”.

Watts posted a fine time of 24:19 to see off the attentions of Market Drayton CC’s Richard Simpson by 53 seconds in this handicap competition. A former Shropshire Hill Climb Champion, lumpy courses hold no fear for him. Whilst time trial bikes had the advantage on the long descents observers reported road bikes having the edge on inclines, which echoes Riley’s comment – and Watt’s observations. He commented: “I always enjoy the Hawkstone hilly course which is usually run early season, but as this was my first outing of the year 10 miles on that course was just right. I enjoyed not having to drag a time trial bike up the climbs but suffered on the fast run to the finish. Congratulations to Jonathan, it’s always nice to get a course record”.

One female and one Junior were in competition – and both were Carys Blowers who recorded a fine 26:37 but being unaffiliated left the standings unaltered.


1Jonathan Mills-KeelingAerologic RTV23:3220
2Devon RoundMid Shropshire WheelersS23:4218
3Chris RileyParamount CRTV24:1616
4Dan WattsSCCA Private MemberS24:1914
5Stan ElmittFibrax Fenwicks Wrexham CCV25:59.
6Carys BlowersLiv CC Halo FilmsFJ26:37.
7Richard SimpsonMarket Drayton CCV26:4312
8Richard NicklessParamount CRTV27:2610
9Alex PaululciewiczNorth Shropshire WheelersS30:458
10Terry PriceNorth Shropshire WheelersV34:156


Vets Pos’nNameClubCatVet +/-Vets Points
1Jonathan Mills-KeelingAerologic RTV+3:2520
2Chris RileyParamount CRTV+3:0818
3Stan ElmittFibrax Fenwicks Wrexham CCV+1:40.
4Richard SimpsonMarket Drayton CCV+0:5616
5Richard NicklessParamount CRTV-0:3514
6Terry PriceNorth Shropshire WheelersV-7:2912

Road Bikes:

RB Pos’nNameClubCatRB Adj TimeRB Points
1Dan WattsSCCA Private MemberS24:1920
2Richard SimpsonMarket Drayton CCV25:1218
3Richard NicklessParamount CRTV26:4316
4Alex PaululciewiczNorth Shropshire WheelersS30:4514


Female Pos’nNameClubCatTimeFemale Points
1Carys BlowersLiv CC Halo FilmsFJ26:37.


Junior Pos’nNameClubCatTimeJunior Points
1Carys BlowersLiv CC Halo FilmsFJ26:37.

Cumulative Standings after seven rounds


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Jonathan Mills-Keeling Aerologic RT V 100
2 Tomos Hales Wrekinsport CC S 96
3 Hayley Wells Wrekinsport CC F 46
4 Oil Freeman Wrekinsport CC S 44
5 Chris Riley Paramount CRT V 42
6 Dean Callister Aerologic RT S 40
7 Devon Round Mid Shropshire Wheelers S 38
8 Mark Pritchard Aerologic RT S 32
9 Richard Nickless Paramount CRT V 26
=10 Mark Hill Hafren CC V 24
=10 Scott Palmer Aerologic RT V 24


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Jonathan Mills-Keeling Aerologic RT V 120
2 Chris Riley Paramount CRT V 56
3 Mark Hill Hafren CC V 42
4 Jan Davies Hafren CC FV 36
5 Scott Palmer Aerologic RT V 34
=6 Ashley Kirkham Wrekinsport CC V 32
=6 Richard Nickless Paramount CRT V 32
=6 Rob Kennard Aerologic RT V 32
9 Geoff Edgerton North Shropshire Wheelers V 28
10 Helen Tudor Oswestry Paragon CC FV 26

Road Bike:

Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Matt Muir Propel CC V 46
2 Mark Fenn SCCA 1st Claim Member V 40
3 Peter Everett Oswestry Paragon CC V 34
4 Ashley Kirkham Wrekinsport CC V 26
=5 Adam Riley Oswestry Paragon CC V 20
=5 Dan Watts SCCA Private Member S 20
=5 Steve Minton Ludlow Brewery RT V 20
=8 Jack Young Oswestry Paragon CC S 18
=8 Richard Simpson Market Drayton CC V 18
=8 Stacey Morgan Ludlow Brewery RT V 18
=8 Tim Mayo Propel CC S 18


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Hayley Wells Wrekinsport CC F 100
2 Jan Davies Hafren CC FV 54
3 Helen Tudor Oswestry Paragon CC FV 52
4 Emma Brown Paramount CRT F 14


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Ben Southgate Wrekinsport CC J 60