The 6th and final round of The Mower Mec 2-Up Series at last saw the Series Champions beaten as the remaining medals were settled at Shawbirch in Wrekinsport CC’s 10 mile 2-Up in an event marred by a nasty post-race crash leaving Angela Boycott with a  broken collarbone. Boycott unfortunately caught the wheel of her partner 20 metres beyond the finish line resulting in a heavy fall and a trip to PRH.

Wrekinsport’s Tomos Hales and Phil Roberts took a fine win by 46 seconds in their second ever pairing in this format, stopping the watch on 21 minutes 50 seconds. Hales was pleased with the way the pair worked together despite being 14 seconds slower than in 2021, with Roberts’ height a big advantage to hide behind, acting as a wind break in the breezy conditions, meaning Hales could put the power own on his turns at the front: “Very happy with the win in the 2-Up with Phil. We were a lot smoother than last year, and Phil is an awesome wind block for a quicker breather behind him. Hopefully next year we can go even quicker. Thanks for Wrekinsport for organising”. Roberts meanwhile was already looking forward to one of the highlights of the calendar, the Coaching Revolutions Shropshire Championship 4-Up adding: “A really great event, and super enjoyable to ride with Tomos at such high speeds. A major tailwind on the back straight meant some serious speed. Two years in a row riding with him in the 2-Up, so we were confident of who would take turns where and the plan was well executed. Looking forward to the next team at the 4-Up, thanks for organising as always”.

Series Champions Chris Riley and Rob McGregor ha to be contented with runner-up spot for once, but still registered a fine effort of 22:36, beating Sarah Grant and Mark Milton into third place by 16 seconds. Riley has enjoyed the Series and was full of praise for the winners, commenting: “Rob and I were racing on some high spirits after being informed that we had an unassailable lead in the Mower Mec 2-Up Series. However, despite us having a good run on a breezy evening around the Cotwall circuit, the Hales/Roberts express train was way out of our league and they whooped us by 46 seconds – respect. The Mower Mec Series has been a lot of fun, and both Rob and I have enjoyed the events promoted by the different clubs; thanks to all the organisers and the SCCA”.

Grant and Milton did enough to not only be crowned 2-Up Mixed Team Champions; they also took Overall Silver too thanks to a fine 22:52. This saw the beat Hafren CC’s Emma Serjeant and Mark Hill as they also took double bubble, capturing Overall Bronze and Mixed Team Silver to push Oswestry Paragon’s Adam Riley and Vikki Jones into the Mixed Bronze position. Grant was happy with the performance on a very different evening to that encountered in Round 5: “What a difference a day makes! Cool and very windy meant a challenging trip round the Wrekinsport course. I was pleased with our performance following on from the Ludlow event. A great event by Wrekinsport with lots of their riders”! Milton added: “What a big change in conditions overnight from a heat wave in Ludlow to 18 degrees and a stiff headwind to make things choppy. Sarah and I worked hard to gain another great result. However, our thoughts are with Angela who had a nasty fall at the finish of her run. We wish her a speedy recovery. Thanks again to the organisers especially with the care they gave to Angela”.

The Women’s Championship saw an unusual result with the same rider, Olivia Hughes taking both Gold and Silver after riding with a different partner and having to be split on count back rules. Hughes shared the trophies with Jan Davies, whilst she took Silver with Karen Proctor.


1Tomos Hales & Phil RobertsWrekinsport CC21:5020
2Chris Riley & Rob McGregorParamount CRT22:3618
3Sarah Grant & Mark MiltonSCCA Private Member & Market Drayton CC 22:5216
4Rich Smith & Ian BondWrekinsport CC23:4114
5Oliver Rodwell & Dave MooreWrekinsport CC24:0712
6Chris Halford & Clare Cotterill Wrekinsport CC26:2710
7Daniel Lamsdell & Steve ElcocksWrekinsport CC & Revolutions Racing27:028
8Barry Parsons & Angela BoycottWrekinsport CC30:126
9Jim Percival & Malcolm LamsdellWrekinsport CC33:514

Mixed Team:

Mixed PosnNamesClub(s)TimeMixed Points
1Sarah Grant & Mark MiltonSCCA Private Member & Market Drayton CC 22:5220
2Chris Halford & Clare Cotterill Wrekinsport CC26:2718
3Barry Parsons & Angela BoycottWrekinsport CC30:1216

Final Cumulative Standings after six rounds


Position Team Club(s) Best 5
1 Chris Riley & Rob McGregor Paramount CRT 98
2 Sarah Grant & Mark Milton SCCA Private Member & Market Drayton CC 54
3 Emma Serjeant & Mark Hill Hafren CC 32
4 Adam Riley & Vikki Jones Oswestry Paragon CC 26
5 Tomos Hales & Phil Roberts Wrekinsport CC 20
=6 Carl Spencer & Carl Evans Hafren CC 18
=6 Dave Drew & Geoff Edgerton North Shropshire Wheelers 18
=6 Graeme Donnell & Andrew Lacon Revolutions Racing 18
=6 Nathan Fullwood & Rob Childs Bridgnorth CC 18
=10 Chris Halford & Clare Cotterill Wrekinsport CC 16
=10 Neil Cooper & Andy Jones Bridgnorth CC 16
=10 Nicky Doherty & Neil Taylor Ludlow CC 16

Mixed Team

Position Team Club(s) Best 5
1 Sarah Grant & Mark Milton SCCA Private Member & Market Drayton CC 60
2 Emma Serjeant & Mark Hill Hafren CC 38
3 Adam Riley & Vikki Jones Oswestry Paragon CC 34
4 Chris Halford & Clare Cotterill Wrekinsport CC 30
5 Steve Chapman & Jenny Newton Nova Raiders 20
6 Nicky Doherty & Neil Taylor Ludlow CC 18
=7 Barry Parsons & Angela Boycott Wrekinsport CC 16
=7 Neil Vose & Jan Davies Hafren CC 16
9 Sofia Brandon-Higgs & Xander Brandon-Higgs Hafren CC 14

Women’s Team

Position Team Club(s) Best 5
1 Jan Davies & Olivia Hughes Hafren CC 20
2 Olivia Hughes & Karen Proctor Hafren CC 20

Teams split on count back rules