Series leader Kirk Vickers broke the course record in Round 3 in a determined push for supremacy in the Little Sweetpea Gardens/BBR Opticians Hill Climb Series – but boy, was it close. With Jonny Morris’ 2018 record in his sights the Holohan Coaching rider was rewarded for his efforts, shaving 0.7 seconds off the benchmark for the 1.04 mile climb of The Stiperstones promoted by Mid Shropshire Wheelers. Vickers stopped the watch on 3 minutes, 55 seconds exactly, the only rider to dip below the four minute mark. This climb is a particular favourite of Vickers and he graphically captured the distinct characteristics of this tough climb: “I love this climb and the changing gradients/corners, and that moment of rest you get just before the final kick. My legs were good on the night, and I was pleased to take the win – course record was an unexpected bonus, thanks Mid Shropshire Wheelers”.

Vickers’ competitive spirit was sharpened by the presence of the 2019 Champion Dave Scott, making his first appearance in the 2021 Series having had some time away from hill climbing. The Mule CC rider took the runner-up spot with a fabulous 5 second improvement over his 2019 effort, stopping the watch on 4:03.4 and showing he is in form. He stated: “I was happy at it was my first race in two years. It was a shock to the system to say the least! Well done Kirk”!

Whilst Louis Lermite had ridden the first two rounds he wasn’t affiliated so was unable to gain points – that was rectified prior to this event as he backed up Scott in Mule colours with a fine effort of 4:17.6 to take third Overall and the Junior win, pushing out Wrekinsport’s Tomos Hales by 5.3 seconds to help open up a 10 point gap between Vickers and Hales who occupy the Gold and Silver medal positions respectively. A chill in the air seemed to have affected the 16 year-old however, as his post-race comments revealed: “I enjoyed the climb, but I didn’t have the best legs especially with the cold start, but I was happy with the position – thanks to the organisers again”.

Vickers wasn’t the only rider in record breaking form as Rebecca Richardson broke her own Women’s record of 4:37.8, also set in 2018 by 4.7 seconds to finish a strong 6th Overall behind Junior Series leader Jack Young. Richardson is using these events as preparation for a challenge for National glory, already having ‘Welsh Champion’ to her name, and she clearly had the bit between her teeth and eyes already firmly set on 2022: “I was very happy to take five seconds off my previous course record, this was my third attempt on this climb! My goal is a sub-4:30 minute ride next time! A super turn-out, and thank you to Mid Shropshire Wheelers for organising, it was nice to see so many familiar faces and cheering on the hill”!

Whilst Vickers is dominating the Overall standings Newport CC’s John Hines is having similar success in the Veteran’s standings, taking another win to take his tally to 60 points after a fine effort of 4:46.5, stretching his lead over the rider in Silver position, Chris Riley to six points after beating the Paramount CRT rider by 3.6 seconds. Hines was a first-timer on this climb, but clearly did his research beforehand: “A great event – really well supported and in a lovely location. Mid Shropshire Wheelers were even able to organise a helpful tailwind! I hadn’t ridden the hill previously but benefited from the local knowledge of fellow competitors to get my pacing about right. Certainly I had nothing left at the top! Thanks again to all the organisers and supporters”.


1Kirk VickersHolohan Coaching RTS3:55.020
2David ScottMule CCS4:03.418
3Louis LermiteMule CCJ4:17.616
4Tomos HalesWrekinsport CCS4:22.914
5Jack YoungMid Shropshire WheelersJ4:28.612
6Rebecca RichardsonBrother UKW4:33.1.
7Robbie DisneyLudlow CCS4:35.810
8Hannah LancasterLoughborough LightningW4:45.1.
9James HardyShutt Velo Test TeamS4:46.5.
9John HinesNewport Shropshire CCV4:46.58
11Olly WaldronMid Shropshire WheelersS4:48.56
12Chris RileyParamount CRTV4:50.14
13Dave HiattMid Shropshire WheelersS5:01.42
14Rob McGregorParamount CRTS5:03.42
15Mark WhiteMid Shropshire WheelersV5:06.72
16Neil ColesOswestry Paragon CCV5:17.12
17Ben ThompsonWrekinsport CCS5:23.12
18Peter JukesMid Shropshire WheelersV5:24.52
19Tim WilsonUnattachedS5:30.7.
20Noah WhiteMid Shropshire WheelersJ5:36.42
21Daphne JonesCycle DivisionWJ5:53.4.
22Joseph LycettMid Shropshire WheelersJ5:53.82
23John SprosonUnattachedV10:23.1.

Veterans on Actual:

Vets Pos’nNameClubCatTimeVets Points
1John HinesNewport Shropshire CCV4:46.520
2Chris RileyParamount CRTV4:50.118
3Mark WhiteMid Shropshire WheelersV5:06.716
4Neil ColesOswestry Paragon CCV5:17.114
5Peter JukesMid Shropshire WheelersV5:24.512
6John SprosonUnattachedV10:23.1.


Junior Pos’nNameClubCatTimeJunior Points
1Louis LermiteMule CCJ4:17.620
2Jack YoungMid Shropshire WheelersJ4:28.618
3Noah WhiteMid Shropshire WheelersJ5:36.416
4Daphne JonesCycle DivisionWJ5:53.4.
5Joseph LycettMid Shropshire WheelersJ5:53.814


Women’s Pos’nNameClubCatTimeWomen’s Points
1Rebecca RichardsonBrother UKW4:33.1.
2Hannah LancasterLoughborough LightningW4:45.1.
3Daphne JonesCycle DivisionWJ5:53.4.

Cumulative standings after three rounds

Overall Top 10:

Position Name Club Cat Best 6
1 Kirk Vickers Holohan Coaching RT S 60
2 Tomos Hales Wrekinsport CC S 50
3 Jack Young Oswestry Paragon CC J 44
4 Robbie Disney Ludlow CC S 36
=5 John Hines Newport Shropshire CC V 26
=5 Luka Stolic Wrekinsport CC J 26
7 David Scott Mule CC S 18
8 Louis Lermite Mule CC J 16
9 Chris Riley Paramount CRT V 12
10 Mark Pritchard Nova Raiders S 10

Veteran’s Top 10:

Position Name Club Cat Best 6
1 John Hines Newport Shropshire CC V 60
2 Chris Riley Paramount CRT V 54
3 Peter Jukes Mid Shropshire Wheelers V 42
4 Neil Coles Oswestry Paragon CC V 30
5 Mark White Mid Shropshire Wheelers V 16
6 Jon Bradley Nova Raiders V 14
7 Dave Moore Wrekinsport CC V 12
8 Clare Cotterill Wrekinsport CC WV 10
9 Ashley Kirkham Wrekinsport CC V 8
10 Victoria Doran Wrekinsport CC WV 6

Junior standings:

Position Name Club Cat Best 6
1 Jack Young Oswestry Paragon CC J 58
2 Joseph Lycett Mid Shropshire Wheelers J 46
3 Luka Stolic Wrekinsport CC J 36
4 Louis Lermite Mule CC J 20
5 Noah White Mid Shropshire Wheelers J 16

Women’s standings:

Position Name Club Cat Best 6
1 Alison Dockney Market Drayton CC W 20
2 Clare Cotterill Wrekinsport CC WV 18
3 Victoria Doran Wrekinsport CC WV 16