A game of two halves is usually a football expression, but it applied in spades to Round 2 of the SB Sports Injuries Series, Shropshire CCA’s second Spring 10 on the Waters Upton – Hodnet course. A roaring tailwind bowled riders along until the turn, then it was a case of hanging on and digging into a fearsome block headwind back. Given the energy sapping conditions it was perhaps surprising that some great times and even a course personal best were recorded from riders who could take advantage of the push out by mauling large gears and then batter their way south into the teeth of the gale. Won by reigning SB Series Champion Tomos Hales with a fabulous effort of 21 minutes 30 seconds, the Wrekinsport rider stretched his lead to six points and graphically described the challenge that faced riders: “I was pleased with my effort, never travelled so fast for the first section of the course as we had a huge tailwind! I definitely got a bit carried away as the return leg was horrendous into the wind, and I had used all my energy going out to quick! Thanks Wrekinsport for hosting, and all the marshals that helped out”.

Aerologic’s Jonathan Mills-Keeling almost had second thoughts about racing as Storm Kathleen made bike control a little tricky. Thankfully the wind was not a crosswind, which would have potentially caused an event deferral, with Mills-Keeling taking the runner-up spot in 22:44 as well as a strong Veterans win in +4:07 to open up a 12 point lead at the top of the standings over North Shropshire Wheelers’ Geoff Edgerton. Mills-Keeling commented: “I was unsure about riding. A nice tailwind out but crazy a headwind back, I had to hold drops on the return, but a great ride from Tomos Hales

New Wrekinsport member Oil Freeman took the final podium position in his first appearance of the Series with a solid effort of 23:46, and again showed how making the most of flying up to Hodnet came at a price: “Great ride, I enjoyed the strong tailwind on the way out; the return leg was much tougher. Impressed with my time and looking forward to the next one”.

Ride of the day came from another new Wrekinsport member Hayley Wells, who not only won the Female race in 24:01 an impressive 3:46 ahead of nearest challenger Jan Davies of Hafren CC to open a gap of four points at the top of the Female standings; but also finished a superb fourth overall. Like Hales, Wells is another triathlete benefiting in the bike discipline by racing time trails – and picked up a course personal best on the hardest day imaginable: “A very quick leg out thanks to a strong tail wind, but coming back was tough. I just got my head down and tried to maintain some rhythm. Chuffed to have picked up a Personal Best on this course”!

All standings in the five different categories are lead by riders on the maximum possible 40 points, with SCCA member Mark Fenn taking the win in the new for 2024 Road Bike Championship. Fenn does like to make it interesting, riding his gravel bike, a style which has more upright geometry than a pure road bike and so presenting a bigger target to the relentless wind. Fenn won in an adjusted time of 26:41. 1:40 ahead of Oswestry Paragon’s Peter Everett and was pleased with his ride, stating: “Although a very strong tail wind going out it was too strong to sustain a quality return leg so gains quickly lost – a tough but enjoyable race”.

Another Wrekinsport rider took the maximum 20 points on offer with Ben Southgate rounding out a Top 5 containing three other club mates with a solid 25:07 to push out Hafren CC’s Mark Hill by nine seconds. He commented: “One of the windiest conditions I have ever raced in, but I still enjoyed it”.

  • The event was honoured to receive special permission to allow Great Britain paralympian Nick Beighton the opportunity to race his hand cycle in preparation for his forthcoming season. The Shrewsbury based rider produced an impressive 280 watts and recorded a fine effort of 30:15.

Full solo:

1Tomos HalesWrekinsport CCS21:3020
2Jonathan Mills-KeelingAerologic RTV22:4418
3Oil FreemanWrekinsport CCS23:4616
4Hayley WellsWrekinsport CC24:0114
5Ben SouthgateWrekinsport CCJ25:0712
6Mark HillHafren CCV25:1610
7Stan ElmittFibrax Fenwicks Wrexham CCV25:20.
8Jan KardaszFibrax Fenwicks Wrexham CCV26:45.
9Mark FennSCCA 1st Claim MemberV27:048
10Tim EvansNewport Shropshire CCV27:306
11Rob GarbettWrekinsport CCV27:354
12Dave DrewNorth Shropshire WheelersV27:402
13Jan DaviesHafren CCFV27:472
14Chris BowersMid Wirral WheelersV27:51.
15Helen TudorOswestry Paragon CCFV28:182
16Peter EverettOswestry Paragon CCV28:212
17Geoff EdgertonNorth Shropshire WheelersV29:122
18Matt MuirPropel CCV34:432
.Grant BighamHuub WattshopSDNS-P.


1Nick BeightonGreat Britain Cycling TeamV30:15


Vets Pos’nNameClubCatVet +/-Vets Points
1Jonathan Mills-KeelingAerologic RTV+4:0720
2Stan ElmittFibrax Fenwicks Wrexham CCV+2:19.
3Mark HillHafren CCV+2:0818
4Geoff EdgertonNorth Shropshire WheelersV+1:5216
5Chris BowersMid Wirral WheelersV+1:48.
6Jan KardaszFibrax Fenwicks Wrexham CCV+1:47.
6Dave DrewNorth Shropshire WheelersV+1:4714
8Jan DaviesHafren CCFV+1:1012
9Helen TudorOswestry Paragon CCFV+0:5110
10Rob GarbettWrekinsport CCV+0:388
11Tim EvansNewport Shropshire CCV-0:276
12Mark FennSCCA 1st Claim MemberV-0:334
13Peter EverettOswestry Paragon CCV-2:132
14Matt MuirPropel CCV-8:072


Female Pos’nNameClubCatTimeFemale Points
1Hayley WellsWrekinsport CC24:0120
2Jan DaviesHafren CCFV27:4718
3Helen TudorOswestry Paragon CCFV28:1816

Road Bike:

RB Pos’nNameClubCatRB Adj TimeRB Points
1Mark FennSCCA 1st Claim MemberV26:4120
2Peter EverettOswestry Paragon CCV28:2118
3Matt MuirPropel CCV34:1516


Junior Pos’nNameClubCatTimeJunior Points
1Ben SouthgateWrekinsport CCJ25:0720

Cumulative Standings after two rounds


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Tomos Hales Wrekinsport CC S 40
2 Jonathan Mills-Keeling Aerologic RT V 34
3 Hayley Wells Wrekinsport CC F 26
4 Ben Southgate Wrekinsport CC J 18
4 Mark Hill Hafren CC V 18
4 Simon Romei Paramount CRT V 18
7 Oil Freeman Wrekinsport CC S 16
8 Scott Palmer Aerologic RT V 14
9 Mark Fenn SCCA 1st Claim Member V 12
10 Rob Kennard Aerologic RT V 10


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Jonathan Mills-Keeling Aerologic RT V 40
2 Geoff Edgerton North Shropshire Wheelers V 28
3 Mark Hill Hafren CC V 26
4 Jan Davies Hafren CC FV 22
5 Simon Romei Paramount CRT V 18
6 Scott Palmer Aerologic RT V 16
7 Dave Drew North Shropshire Wheelers V 14
7 Helen Tudor Oswestry Paragon CC FV 14
7 Rob Kennard Aerologic RT V 14
10 Rob Garbett Wrekinsport CC V 8
10 Tim Evans Newport (Shropshire) CC V 8


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Hayley Wells Wrekinsport CC F 40
2 Jan Davies Hafren CC FV 36
3 Helen Tudor Oswestry Paragon CC FV 32
4 Emma Brown Paramount CRT F 14

Road Bike:

Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Mark Fenn SCCA 1st Claim Member V 40
2 Peter Everett Oswestry Paragon CC V 34
3 Matt Muir Propel CC V 26
4 Tim Mayo Propel CC S 18
5 Emma Brown Paramount CRT F 14
6 Daniel Bailey Propel CC S 12


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Ben Southgate Wrekinsport CC J 40