The toughest 10 mile course in Shropshire was the host for Round 14 of The SB Sports Injuries Series as Dean Callister piled on the pressure at the top of the standings in Ludlow CC’s ‘Scenic’ 10. Held on some of the quietest roads in the County the course lives up to its name when riders could take their eyes off the road in this most technical of challenges. Times are usually 2-3 minutes down on normal, with Callister getting his first look at the circuit – and coming out the winner by a slight three seconds to extend his lead by a further two points to 14 points over Henri Bedford. The Nova Raider stopped the watch on 22 minutes 51 seconds, coping well with a circuit of Long Meadowend – Purslow – Hoptonheath – Clungunford that really tests the mettle despite not being able to scope out the challenge beforehand. His post-race comments show the thrill awaiting riders: “My first time riding the course and also had to ride it blind as I didn’t get change to drive the course beforehand. I actually enjoyed the course a lot; it’s a great little course with a mix of everything. I was pleased to take the win, thanks to Ludlow CC for putting the event on”.

One rider who knows the course and the challenge ahead was Henri Bedford. Already SB Junior Champion Bedford is breathing down Callister’s neck in the Overall standings, and used his knowledge and light weight to full advantage to finish in 22:54. He stated: “I love the scenic route of the Ludlow course. The hills and technical course didn’t disappoint; a nice change from flat and straight time trials. Well done to Dean for the win and thanks to Ludlow CC for organising”.

With plenty of first-timers experiencing the course Rob Jackson who finished 10th in 26:04 perhaps best summed it up: “A real challenge with constant gear changes to find any sense of rhythm so you really have to ride on feel rather than power.  Old school racing at it’s very best”. Wrekinsport team mate Tomos Hales was also getting his first taste of the swooping, twisting challenge on offer and used his Garmin computer to help anticipate what was coming up to guide himself to third place in 23:39, just four seconds ahead of Jonathan Mills-Keeling. Hales enjoyed the trip south, commenting: “My first time on the Ludlow Scenic 10, very undulating and technical. I spent most the time with my maps on my headset to navigate the corners. A nice change to the A442, thanks for Ludlow CC for hosting”.

Bridgnorth CC’s Mills-Keeling didn’t go home empty handed, extending his lead in the SB Veteran’s Series with a +2:58 ride, 29 seconds ahead of another Wrekinsport CC rider Chris Halford and doubling his Series lead to a still slim four points in a terrific battle between the pair. Another first-timer, Mills-Keeling liked the variety on offer which is far from what time triallists usually encounter: “I really enjoyed the course, very different to normal. I was lucky to do a lap beforehand, many thanks to Ludlow CC for putting it on”.

In the SB Women’s Series it was a straight head-to-head between Market Drayton CC’s Alison Dockney and Wrekinsport’s Clare Cotterill, with Dockney taking the win in 27 minutes exactly. Have taken a brief gap from racing Dockney liked the peace and quiet the course throws up, with riders barely encountering cars on these rural roads: “A super evening for racing, great conditions and quiet roads. I love the Scenic course and was excited to pin a number on again. I really enjoyed the event and happy to come away with a course personal best – thanks Ludlow CC”!


1Dean CallisterNova RaidersS22:5120
2Henri BedfordRevolutions RacingJ22:5418
3Tomos HalesWrekinsport CCS23:3916
4Jonathan Mills-KeelingBridgnorth CCV23:4314
5Chris HalfordWrekinsport CCV24:1712
6Mark PritchardNova RaidersS24:2710
7Robbie DisneyLudlow CCS24:428
8Gareth LeekLudlow Brewery RTS25:006
9Steve MintonLudlow Brewery RTV25:284
10Rob JacksonWrekinsport CCV26:042
11Dan CuttingLudlow CCV26:272
12Ian ConnollyLudlow CCV26:342
13Alison DockneyMarket Drayton CCW27:002
14Simon BrownMid Shropshire Wheelers V27:402
15Al HorriganArmy CUV27:54.
16Will BaughLudlow CCV28:592
17Mark StocksNewport Shropshire CCV29:422
18Clare CotterillWrekinsport CCWV34:492


Vets Pos’nNameClubCatVet +/-Vets Points
1Jonathan Mills-KeelingBridgnorth CCV+2:5820
2Chris HalfordWrekinsport CCV+2:2918
3Steve MintonLudlow Brewery RTV+1:2816
4Rob JacksonWrekinsport CCV+1:2614
5Ian ConnollyLudlow CCV+0:2712
6Dan CuttingLudlow CCV-0:0810
7Simon BrownMid Shropshire Wheelers V-0:448
8Al HorriganArmy CUV-1:22.
9Will BaughLudlow CCV-1:476
10Mark StocksNewport Shropshire CCV-2:244
11Clare CotterillWrekinsport CCWV-5:572


Women’s Pos’nNameClubCatTimeWomen’s Points
1Alison DockneyMarket Drayton CCW27:0020
2Clare CotterillWrekinsport CCWV34:4918


Junior Pos’nNameClubCatTimeJunior Points
1Henri BedfordRevolutions RacingJ22:5420

Cumulative Standings after fourteen rounds


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Dean Callister Nova Raiders S 216
2 Henri Bedford Revolutions Racing J 202
3 Tomos Hales Wrekinsport CC S 120
4 Jonathan Mills-Keeling Bridgnorth CC V 98
5 Chris Halford Wrekinsport CC V 94
6 Mark Pritchard Nova Raiders S 88
7 Adam Baker SCCA Private Member S 72
8 David Griffiths Oswestry Paragon CC S 52
=9 Andy Rose Nova Raiders V 38
=9 James Satoor Mid Shropshire Wheelers J 38


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Jonathan Mills-Keeling Bridgnorth CC V 160
2 Chris Halford Wrekinsport CC V 156
3 Rob Jackson Wrekinsport CC V 96
4 Andy Rose Nova Raiders V 72
=5 Deb Hutson-Lumb Nova Raiders WV 62
=5 Mark Stocks Newport Shropshire CC V 62
7 Gino Trasatti North Shropshire Wheelers V 46
8 Clare Cotterill Wrekinsport CC WV 44
=9 Christopher Riley Paramount CRT V 36
=9 Rich Smith Wrekinsport CC V 36


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Marie Llewellyn Nova Raiders W 156
2 Clare Cotterill Wrekinsport CC WV 128
3 Deb Hutson-Lumb Nova Raiders WV 76
4 Helen Tudor Oswestry Paragon CC WV 70
=5 Clare O’Donnell Wrekinsport CC WV 58
=5 Jenny Newton Nova Raiders WV 58
7 Alison Dockney Market Drayton CC W 40
=8 Alison Salthouse SCCA Private Member WV 36
=8 Victoria Doran Wrekinsport CC WV 36
10 Jenny York Mid Shropshire Wheelers WV 34


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Henri Bedford Revolutions Racing J 226
2 Harry Corney Market Drayton CC J 114
3 James Satoor Mid Shropshire Wheelers J 52
4 Ben Southgate Wrekinsport CC J 50
5 Ethan Campbell Newport Shropshire CC J 38
6 Nathan Fullwood Bridgnorth CC J 36
7 Ben Pierce Mid Shropshire Wheelers J 18
8 Megan Fletcher Newport Shropshire CC WJ 16
=9 Cerys Blowers Mid Shropshire Wheelers WJ 14
=9 Luka Stolic Wrekinsport CC J 14