The winning margin could not have been closer in Round 13 of the SB Sports Injuries Series as Adam Baker ended up ousting the Series leader by one second in Wrekinsport CC’s Gordon Davies 19, held over two laps of the Shawbirch – Cotwall Bank circuit. Despite losing 10 seconds to Dean Callister on the second lap Adam Baker clung on for a maiden win in 41 minutes 44 seconds having battled through a sapping northerly headwind that affected the three mile stretch between Shawbirch island an Crudgington crossroads. Baker was pleased with his win, commenting: “It was extremely close for the win, especially over that distance, any number of things where a second is made and lost. It was a tough day with the wind, but I paced it very well, pushing hard into the headwind and then using the tail wind to recover while keeping the speed high. The sections down wind were certainly more enjoyable – happy with my first win at these events”.

Callister stretched his lead at the top of the Overall standings to 12 points after an extremely close battle with the rider in runner-up spot Henri Bedford. The two were split by 10 seconds at the en of the first lap and by exactly the same margin at the end of the second, with Callister stopping the watch on 41:45. The Nova Raider’s comments show the difficulty judging a course that provides a variety of challenges, stating: “A nice temperature for racing but a strong wind in places. I always find that course hard to pace, and missed the win by such a small margin, but a great ride and congratulations to Adam Baker – thanks to Wrekinsport for a top evening”.

Bedford had had other plans for the evening, looking to enter the re-arranged North Shropshire Wheelers’ 25 due unavoidably to take place at the same time, but a late cancellation saw a hasty revision to his plans, making the transfer just in time. Whilst he cemented his Silver medal position Overall he became the first medal winner of the Series taking Junior Gold with four Rounds to spare after a fabulous season. He stated: “I love the Wrekinsport course as I am very familiar with it. A big headwind made the first part of the course tough and challenging. I enjoyed the race a lot, and well done to all those who competed – thanks to Wrekinsport CC for hosting”. With a healthy contingent of five Juniors among the 28-strong field Bedford’s nearest challenger was 16 year-old Bridgnorth CC rider Nathan Fullwood in 46:42.   

Another of the riders caught on the hop by the late cancellation took the win in the SB Women’s Series as Marie Llewellyn extended her lead at the top of the standings. Nova Raider Llewellyn crossed the finish line in 50:29 to see off a challenge from Wrekinsport’s Clare Cotterill who occupies the Silver medal position after ending her evening on 58:52. Her arrival after the event had started meant she had less than ideal race preparation, as she explained: “The 25 had been the plan for the night, but after the cancellation a very quick drive and entry online for the Wrekinsport 19. The first five kilometres was the warm up as nothing wanted to work, and then I found my power and pace and had an enjoyable race. Many thanks for Wrekinsport for letting us and others join last minute”.

In the SB Veterans Championship it was a surprise win for Wrekinsport’s Chris Halford, still recovering from a knee operation but pushing out Bridgnorth CC’s Jonathan Mills-Keeling, another of the late transferees by 8 seconds in +7:53. Halford was 20 seconds behind Mills-Keeling at the end of the first lap but finished strongly, as his comments reveal: “I went easy on the first lap, and pushed a little on the second. I’m surprised to of won the Veteran’s race with such strong riders racing”. Wrekinsport were running their Gordon Davies Handicap within the event, with Stephen Porter-Knott taking Gold in an adjusted 35:26, with Ian Bond Silver in 39:23 and Ben Wood Bronze in 40:47.


Pos’nNameClubCat10 milesTimePoints
1Adam BakerSCCA Private MemberS21:4141:4420
2Dean CallisterNova RaidersS21:5241:4518
3Henri BedfordRevolutions RacingJ22:0241:5516
4Tomos HalesWrekinsport CCS22:3043:0214
5Jonathan Mills-KeelingBridgnorth CCV22:4243:1912
6Chris HalfordWrekinsport CCV23:0243:2010
7Mark PritchardNova RaidersS23:3644:408
8Rob JacksonWrekinsport CCV24:1645:526
9Rich SmithWrekinsport CCV24:1346:214
10Nathan FullwoodBridgnorth CCJ24:2546:422
11Ian BondWrekinsport CCS24:1046:532
12Chris RileyParamount CRTV24:3847:102
13Allan HendersonWrekinsport CCS25:0548:032
14Phil RobertsWrekinsport CCS24:1748:282
15Harry CorneyMarket Drayton CCJ24:5149:442
16Ben WoodWrekinsport CCS26:0649:472
17Marie LlewellynNova RaidersW26:2350:292
18Mike NewmanWrekinsport CCS26:5451:182
19George CoombesSCCA 1st ClaimS26:4151:242
20Ben SouthgateWrekinsport CCJ27:1752:422
21Mark StocksNewport Shropshire CCV27:5853:422
22Chester RomeiMarket Drayton CCJ28:2954:062
23Steve ElcocksRevolutions RacingV29:2956:362
24Clare CotterillWrekinsport CCWV31:1158:522
25Victoria DoranWrekinsport CCV31:371:01:172
26Stephen Porter-KnottWrekinsport CCV34:001:05:262
27Clare O’DonnellWrekinsport CCWV33:281:07:082
.Stuart WortleyWrekinsport CCVDNFDNF.


Vets Pos’nNameClubCatVet +/-Vets Points
1Chris HalfordWrekinsport CCV+7:5320
2Jonathan Mills-KeelingBridgnorth CCV+7:4518
3Rob JacksonWrekinsport CCV+6:4816
4Rich SmithWrekinsport CCV+5:4414
5Chris RileyParamount CRTV+4:4412
6Mark StocksNewport Shropshire CCV-1:2610
7Clare CotterillWrekinsport CCWV-3:478
8Steve ElcocksRevolutions RacingV-4:206
9Clare O’DonnellWrekinsport CCWV-10:304
10Victoria DoranWrekinsport CCV-11:132
11Stephen Porter-KnottWrekinsport CCV-15:222


Women’s Pos’nNameClubCat10 milesTimeWomen’s Points
1Marie LlewellynNova RaidersW26:2350:2920
2Clare CotterillWrekinsport CCWV31:1158:5218
3Clare O’DonnellWrekinsport CCWV33:281:07:0816


Junior Pos’nNameClubCat10 milesTimeJunior Points
1Henri BedfordRevolutions RacingJ22:0241:5520
2Nathan FullwoodBridgnorth CCJ24:2546:4218
3Harry CorneyMarket Drayton CCJ24:5149:4416
4Ben SouthgateWrekinsport CCJ27:1752:4214
5Chester RomeiMarket Drayton CCJ28:2954:0612

Cumulative Standings after thirteen rounds


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Dean Callister Nova Raiders S 196
2 Henri Bedford Revolutions Racing J 184
3 Tomos Hales Wrekinsport CC S 104
4 Jonathan Mills-Keeling Bridgnorth CC V 84
5 Chris Halford Wrekinsport CC V 82
6 Mark Pritchard Nova Raiders S 78
7 Adam Baker SCCA Private Member S 72
8 David Griffiths Oswestry Paragon CC S 52
=9 Andy Rose Nova Raiders V 38
=9 James Satoor Mid Shropshire Wheelers J 38


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Jonathan Mills-Keeling Bridgnorth CC V 140
2 Chris Halford Wrekinsport CC V 138
3 Rob Jackson Wrekinsport CC V 82
4 Andy Rose Nova Raiders V 72
5 Deb Hutson-Lumb Nova Raiders WV 62
6 Mark Stocks Newport Shropshire CC V 58
7 Gino Trasatti North Shropshire Wheelers V 46
8 Clare Cotterill Wrekinsport CC WV 42
=9 Christopher Riley Paramount CRT V 36
=9 Rich Smith Wrekinsport CC V 36


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Marie Llewellyn Nova Raiders W 156
2 Clare Cotterill Wrekinsport CC WV 110
3 Deb Hutson-Lumb Nova Raiders WV 76
4 Helen Tudor Oswestry Paragon CC WV 70
=5 Clare O’Donnell Wrekinsport CC WV 58
=5 Jenny Newton Nova Raiders WV 58
=7 Alison Salthouse SCCA Private Member WV 36
=7 Victoria Doran Wrekinsport CC WV 36
9 Jenny York Mid Shropshire Wheelers WV 34
10 Pauline Hughes Revolutions Racing WV 24


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Henri Bedford Revolutions Racing J 206
2 Harry Corney Market Drayton CC J 114
3 James Satoor Mid Shropshire Wheelers J 52
4 Ben Southgate Wrekinsport CC J 50
5 Ethan Campbell Newport Shropshire CC J 38
6 Nathan Fullwood Bridgnorth CC J 36
7 Ben Pierce Mid Shropshire Wheelers J 18
8 Megan Fletcher Newport Shropshire CC WJ 16
9 Cerys Blowers Mid Shropshire Wheelers WJ 14
9 Luka Stolic Wrekinsport CC J 14