Round 2 of the Friction Hydraulics Series saw the wind rise from the west as riders had to battle to make progress in the Velotik 15 – as Dean Callister took the win in his first appearance of the season. The Aerologic rider stopped the watch on the popular Hodnet – Stanton – Tiddly circuit, coping best with the tough start along the Hodnet bypass with a gradual climb towards Hopton added to the mix before the relief of a turn towards Ellerdine Heath and a push. Callister stopped the watch on 32 minutes 4 seconds to see off the attentions of Round 1 winner Paul Horton by 36 seconds. Callister graphically described the conditions facing riders, stating: “My first solo time trial of the season, always a great event and a good course. Dry conditions but windy, a bit choppy in places due to gusts, but not too bad. I paced it well and settled into it pretty quick. Pleased to take the Shropshire win and the team award for Aerologic – a great event from Velotik”.

Horton maintained his lead at the head of the Friction Series with County runner-up in 32:40, 39 seconds ahead of Matt Garthwaite to double his point’s advantage over the Newport rider to 10 points. The Bridgnorth rider was getting his first experience of a popular course, but like many battled into the wind which proved sapping: “I enjoyed the course. Went out a little too hard in the first five minutes, but then settled down into a decent rhythm. I could have done with a little more for the head wind section but managed a good effort from the last island to the line – happy with the effort”.

Callister wasn’t the only Aerologic rider making his 2024 Friction Series debut as Jonathan Mills-Keeling took a solid win in the Veteran’s event, winning in +6:11. Mills-Keeling had suffered in the unexpected chill of the previous day’s SB Series event, but this time he made no mistakes and wrapped up enough: “My first open of the year, I dressed correctly was just as cold as the previous day, which was freezing. I under paced the tailwind section but pleased to take the win –  great event and great cake, thanks to Velotik for putting on”. Mills-Keeling saw off the attentions of Paramount’s Simon Romei, runner-up in +5:37; and Hafren CC’s Bryn Davies just six seconds further back; with this pair tied at the top of the Friction Veteran’s Series.

The first entries to the Female Series saw just one rider take the start line despite three entering, with Oswestry Paragon’s Helen Tudor taking the maximum 60 points on offer in 42:18. She lamented that the unfavourable conditions put competitors off this little seen standard distance, commenting: “One of my favourite events, a shame so many riders didn’t start. Not as bad as the weather on Saturday afternoon, good to be racing again

Wrekinsport’s Ben Southgate also made hay, even if it wasn’t while the sun shone as he battled around the course in 38:57, enjoying his morning, stating: “Windy conditions, but it was a good race overall”.


1DeanCallisterAerologic RT32:0460
2PaulHortonBridgnorth Cycling Club32:4055
3MatthewGarthwaiteNewport (Shropshire) CC33:1950
4TomosHalesWrekinsport CC33:2045
5JonathanMills-KeelingAerologic RT34:1540
6SimonRomeiParamount CRT34:1835
7BrynDaviesHafren CC34:4730
8DevonRoundMid Shropshire Wheelers35:0525
9OliFreemanWrekinsport CC35:4520
10GeorgeCoombesNewport (Shropshire) CC37:4515
11IanConnollyLudlow CC37:5010
12NeilWilsonParamount CRT38:255
13BenSouthgateWrekinsport CC38:575
14SimonJonesHafren CC40:035
15DavidDrewNorth Shropshire Wheelers41:175
16LesBougheyNorth Shropshire Wheelers41:295
17RobertGarbettWrekinsport CC42:155
18HelenTudorOswestry Paragon CC42:185
19GeoffEdgertonNorth Shropshire Wheelers43:175
20AshleyKirkhamWrekinsport CC44:475
PhilGuyNorth Shropshire WheelersDNS-A
DebHutson-LumbWrekinsport CCDNS-A
KarlLombardiOswestry Paragon CCDNS-A
JamesElgarParamount CRTDNS
SorrelWilliamsSCCA Private MemberDNS


Vets Pos’nForenameSurnameClubVet +/-Vets Points
1JonathanMills-KeelingAerologic RT+6:1160
2SimonRomeiParamount CRT+5:3755
3BrynDaviesHafren CC+5:3150
4GeoffEdgertonNorth Shropshire Wheelers+3:3345
5DavidDrewNorth Shropshire Wheelers+3:0540
6IanConnollyLudlow CC+3:0435
7NeilWilsonParamount CRT+2:2930
8HelenTudorOswestry Paragon CC+1:5225
9LesBougheyNorth Shropshire Wheelers+0:4720
10RobertGarbettWrekinsport CC+0:1415
11SimonJonesHafren CC-0:0110
12AshleyKirkhamWrekinsport CC-4:525


Female Pos’nForenameSurnameClubTimeFemale Points
1HelenTudorOswestry Paragon CC42:1860
DebHutson-LumbWrekinsport CCDNS-A
SorrelWilliamsSCCA Private MemberDNS


Junior Pos’nForenameSurnameClubTimeJunior Points
1BenSouthgateWrekinsport CC38:5760

Road Bikes:

RB Pos’nForenameSurnameClubRB Adj TimeRB Points
PhilGuyNorth Shropshire WheelersDNS-A

Top Club Award:

1Aerologic RT 100
2Wrekinsport CC 80
3Newport (Shropshire) CC 65
4Bridgnorth Cycling Club 55
5Paramount CRT 40
6Hafren CC 35
7Mid Shropshire Wheelers 25
8North Shropshire Wheelers 15
9Ludlow CC 10
10Oswestry Paragon CC 5

Cumulative Standings after two rounds

Friction and Hydraulic Services Shropshire Championship Points Series

Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Paul Horton Bridgnorth Cycling Club S 115
2 Matthew Garthwaite Newport (Shropshire) CC S 105
=3 Bryn Davies Hafren CC V 80
=3 Simon Romei Paramount CRT V 80
=5 Dean Callister Aerologic RT S 60
=5 Devon Round Mid Shropshire Wheelers S 60
=5 Oli Freeman Wrekinsport CC S 60
8 Tomos Hales Wrekinsport CC S 45
9 Jonathan Mills-Keeling Aerologic RT V 40
10 Christopher Riley Paramount CRT V 30

Friction and Hydraulic Services Veterans Championship

Vets Position Name Club Best 12
=1 Bryn Davies Hafren CC 110
=1 Simon Romei Paramount CRT 110
3 Ian Connolly Ludlow CC 70
4 Jonathan Mills-Keeling Aerologic RT 60
5 Christopher Riley Paramount CRT 50
=6 Geoff Edgerton North Shropshire Wheelers 45
=6 Paul Bailey Bridgnorth Cycling Club 45
=8 David Drew North Shropshire Wheelers 40
=8 Mark Fenn Shropshire CCA 40
=10 James Elgar Paramount CRT 30
=10 Neil Wilson Paramount CRT 30

Friction and Hydraulic Services Road Bike Championship

Road Bike Pos’n Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Matthew Garthwaite Newport (Shropshire) CC S 60
2 Paul Bailey Bridgnorth Cycling Club V 55
3 Mark Fenn Shropshire CCA V 50
4 Ashley Kirkham Wrekinsport CC V 45

Friction and Hydraulic Services Female Championship

Female Pos’n Name Club Best 12
1 Helen Tudor Oswestry Paragon CC 60

Friction and Hydraulic Services Junior Championship

Junior Pos’n Name Club Best 12
1 Ben Southgate Wrekinsport CC 60

Top Club Award

Position Club Total Points
=1 Paramount CRT 145
=1 Wrekinsport CC 145
3 Bridgnorth Cycling Club 135
4 Newport (Shropshire) CC 120
5 Aerologic RT 100
6 Hafren CC 85
7 Mid Shropshire Wheelers 60
=8 Ludlow CC 15
=8 North Shropshire Wheelers 15
10 Oswestry Paragon CC 5