A second win in 24 hours saw Tomos Hales open up his lead at the top of the BBR Opticians Hill Climb Series as retiring Nova raiders Race Secretary Fliss Connor promoted her final event. Held on a lovely evening at Station Road, Ironbridge, the three-quarter mile course is deceptive with speed having to be scrubbed right off just as the steepest section near the bottom commences. Hales stopped the watch on 3 minutes 24 seconds, beating Mid Shropshire Wheelers’ Junior Alex Hart by two seconds to open up a six point lead at the head of the standings. The Wrekinsport CC rider was delighted with his second win on the trot, stating: “Happy to take the win for the Nova hill climb, I had a good start and went very hard on the steep section. I managed to hold on up the tight sections of the course towards the top. Thanks for Nova for hosting their last race in a while – a shame to loose such a good climb for the BBR Hill Climb Series next year”.

Hart took the maximum 20 points on offer in the BBR Junior Series and elevated himself into the Overall runner-up spot with a fine 3:26 effort, made all the better by remembering to pack the race shoes he had forgotten just 24 hours earlier. The nature of the climb was to his liking, although he wished for more competition in a discipline particularly suited to lightweight youngsters: “Round two went smoothly and the steep climb suited me well. I’m looking forward to the next one, but a shame more people aren’t giving them a go”.

The best placed Veteran also took the final podium place as Steven Prince crossed the line in 3:30, a great effort. The nature of the course can be deceptive however, with the finish seeming to take forever to appear, not helped by a gentle curve which disguises it. This was borne out in Prince’s comments: “I really enjoy the Nova Raiders course; it’s very tricky and drags on a lot longer than it looks. A great time again by Tomos, I got a bit closer this time but not close enough – thanks to the club and marshals”.

Taking maximum Veterans points for affiliated riders was Scott Palmer, who stretched his lead over Paramount’s Chris Riley to four points after Riley finished in 4:04. This was a new experience for the Bridgnorth CC rider, but he liked the nature of the challenge: “I felt a lot more suited to this climb as it was straight into a steep section. This was another new climb to me and pacing is always the key in these events, but still way behind some cracking times by Steve Prince and Tomos Hales”.

In the BBR Women’s Series Hayley Wells doubled her points tally after crossing the line in 4:38, seeing off a challenged from Bridgnorth CC’s Robin Jones by 50 seconds. Wells is having a first look at the climbs on offer in this popular Series, all of which offer up very different characteristics, with planning strategy as big a part of the game as the racing. She stated: “A slightly different strategy needed compared to the Wrekin climb the night before. The plan was to not go out too hard within the first few metres and risk blowing up on the steepest part of the course – the first turn! I just about managed to hang on until the end, but more practice needed! Some fantastic times being set out there, and thanks to Nova for hosting”.

Full result:

1Tomos HalesWrekinsport CCS3:2420
2Alex HartMid Shropshire WheelersJ3:2618
3Steven PrinceLudlow Brewery RTV3:30.
4Scott PalmerBridgnorth CCV3:4316
5Sebastian BaconWolverhampton Wheelers CCS3:46.
6Matthew RedworthMid Shropshire WheelersS3:4714
7Phil RobertsWrekinsport CCS3:4912
8Jack YoungOswestry Paragon CCS4:0310
9Chris RileyParamount CRTV4:048
10Ben WoodWrekinsport CCS4:236
11Neil ColesOswestry Paragon CCV4:254
12Hayley WellsParamount CRTW4:382
13Jamie Rynan-TubbBridgnorth CCS4:442
14Andy CollinsMid Shropshire WheelersV4:592
15Ben ThompsonWrekinsport CCV5:042
16Robin JonesBridgnorth CCW5:282


Vets Pos’nNameClubCatTimeVets Points
1Steven PrinceLudlow Brewery RTV3:30.
2Scott PalmerBridgnorth CCV3:4320
3Chris RileyParamount CRTV4:0418
4Neil ColesOswestry Paragon CCV4:2516
5Andy CollinsMid Shropshire WheelersV4:5914
6Ben ThompsonWrekinsport CCV5:0412


Women’s Pos’nNameClubCatTimeWomen’s Points
1Hayley WellsParamount CRTW4:3820
2Robin JonesBridgnorth CCW5:2818


Junior Pos’nNameClubCatTimeJunior Points
1Alex HartMid Shropshire WheelersJ3:2620

Cumulative standings after two rounds

Overall Top 10:

Position Name Club Cat Best 6
1 Tomos Hales Wrekinsport CC S 40
2 Alex Hart Mid Shropshire Wheelers J 34
3 Matthew Redworth Mid Shropshire Wheelers S 30
4 Scott Palmer Bridgnorth CC V 28
5 Jack Young Oswestry Paragon CC S 22
6 Phil Roberts Wrekinsport CC S 20
7 Kirk Vickers Holohan Coaching RT S 18
8 Chris Riley Paramount CRT V 12
9 Ben Wood Wrekinsport CC S 8
=10 Dean Callister Revolutions Racing S 6
=10 Neil Coles Oswestry Paragon CC V 6

Veterans Top 10:

Position Name Club Cat Best 6
1 Scott Palmer Bridgnorth CC V 40
2 Chris Riley Paramount CRT V 36
3 Neil Coles Oswestry Paragon CC V 32
4 Andy Collins Mid Shropshire Wheelers V 26
5 Oliver Rodwell Wrekinsport CC V 14
6 Ben Thompson Wrekinsport CC V 12
7 Ashley Kirkham Wrekinsport CC V 10
8 Matt Price Wrekinsport CC V 8
9 Victoria Doran Wrekinsport CC WV 6
10 Jim Percival Wrekinsport CC V 4

Women’s standings:

Position Name Club Cat Best 6
1 Hayley Wells Paramount CRT W 40
=2 Victoria Doran Wrekinsport CC WV 18
=2 Robin Jones Bridgnorth CC W 18

Junior standings:

Position Name Club Cat Best 6
1 Alex Hart Mid Shropshire Wheelers J 40