The final Gold medal of the SB Sports Injuries Series was sealed in Round 13, the SCCA’s first Autumn 10 as Helen Tudor finally took the Series she has often won Silver and Bronze in. Tudor scored a course personal best 26 minutes 12 seconds on a glorious afternoon on the ‘Tiddly’ circuit, taking in Cold Hatton – Hodnet – Stanton with a fine win of 23 seconds over Hafren CC’s Jan Davies to take the 20 points on offer and stretch her lead to an unassailable 50 points with just 40 available across the remaining two rounds. Tudor was delighted to finally seal victory in the Series, stating: “I was pleased to take the win; I’ve had some good battles with Jan this year. I enjoy riding the Tiddly circuit and conditions were favourable, so a course personal best. Thanks to Wrekinsport for putting the event on. It’s been a few years since I last won medals in the SB Series, thanks to all the clubs who put events on. Good to see some new faces taking part”.

The overall win went to Tudor’s Oswestry Paragon club mate David Griffiths with a huge winning margin of 1:39 over another Hafren rider Bryn Davies in a superb 20:33. Griffiths was visbly quicker than any other rider across the finish line and has found great late season form after an illness-affected summer to take full advantage of Shropshire’s extended programme into late September at a time when many have ceased promoting. His comments reflected the fast-approaching closer of the racing season: “What I am grateful for is the volunteers who give up their free time to make these events happen every weekend; and it’s been great to be able to race into autumn. I’m upset that it’s somehow the end of the season already”!

But things could have been different if Max Bufton hadn’t frustratingly suffered from mechanical issues that kept his 30mph target tantalisingly out of reach as first his time trial bike was put out of action and then his backup road bike also suffered issues, meaning he was stuck in the small chain ring. Determined to race, Bufton’s legs where a blur trying to make the best progress he could by spinning, eventually taking the Junior win in 23:46 and still finishing 6th Overall. Frustration was the order of the day, but at least he got a superb cardio workout: “One of my goals was to go sub-20, so disappointed to miss out. Conditions and the course were good, so disappointed to have pre-race mechanicals which led to riding my road bike stuck in the small chain ring. Definitely a tough ride spinning at over 120rpm throughout the race”!

Davies meanwhile was happy to take the Overall runner-up spot in 22:12, pushing out Hafren team mate Conrad Taylor by 53 seconds despite a traffic delay. Nevertheless he expressed satisfaction at his effort – and taking a rare win from former Hafren rider Bufton: “A good turn out and a fine day for racing. I got held up at Peplow on the way out, but happy with the time nonetheless, and pleased with the result. Time lost wouldn’t have made any difference to the winner as David put in a cracking time. Unlucky for Max Bufton who would have undoubtedly put in a quicker time had he not suffered a mechanical before the start – probably the only time I can say I beat him! Thanks to everyone for putting on the event, a great afternoon’s racing”.

Taylor was trying out the Tiddly course for the first time and just pushed out a strong effort from Newport Shropshire CC’s fast improving George Coombes by eight seconds with 23:05. Taylor’s comments show how knowing a course’s features helps: “A solid ride I think, I’ve been trying to hang onto some late season form. Not familiar with the course so pacing was a challenge – I was hanging on in the last kilometre. Really enjoyed it and hopefully can improve at the next one, pleased with third”.


1David GriffithsOswestry Paragon CCS20:3320
2Bryn DaviesHafren CCV22:1218
3Conrad TaylorHafren CCS23:0516
4George CoombesNewport Shropshire CCS23:1314
5Stan ElmittFibrax Wrexham RCV23:25.
6Max BuftonTofauti Everyone ActiveJ23:46.
7Allan HendersonWrekinsport CCV24:0712
8Ian ConnollyLudlow CCV24:2310
9Mark HillHafren CCV24:468
10Paul MulreadyBridgnorth CCV24:536
11Helen TudorOswestry Paragon CCWV26:124
12Chris BowersMid Wirral WheelersV26:20.
13Jan DaviesHafren CCWV26:352
14Colin WellsParamount CRTV26:442
15Geoff EdgertonNorth Shropshire WheelersV27:102
16Tanya SamuelsFibrax Wrexham RCWV27:34.
17Chris MarrsMid Shropshire WheelersV27:372
18Mark StocksNewport Shropshire CCV27:512
19Jessica BuftonHafren CCWJ29:452
20John RowlandsWrekinsport CCV34:302


Vets Pos’nNameClubCatVet +/-Vets Points
1Bryn DaviesHafren CCV+4:3920
2Stan ElmittFibrax Wrexham RCV+4:05.
3Helen TudorOswestry Paragon CCWV+3:3618
4Geoff EdgertonNorth Shropshire WheelersV+3:2516
5Chris BowersMid Wirral WheelersV+2:59.
6Ian ConnollyLudlow CCV+2:4914
7Jan DaviesHafren CCWV+2:4812
8Tanya SamuelsFibrax Wrexham RCWV+2:41.
9Mark HillHafren CCV+2:3210
10Paul MulreadyBridgnorth CCV+2:088
11Allan HendersonWrekinsport CCV+1:596
12Colin WellsParamount CRTV+1:384
13Chris MarrsMid Shropshire WheelersV+0:362
14Mark StocksNewport Shropshire CCV-0:212
15John RowlandsWrekinsport CCV-4:102


Women’s Pos’nNameClubCatTimeWomen’s Points
1Helen TudorOswestry Paragon CCWV26:1220
2Jan DaviesHafren CCWV26:3518
3Tanya SamuelsFibrax Wrexham RCWV27:34.
4Jessica BuftonHafren CCWJ29:4516


Junior Pos’nNameClubCatTimeJunior Points
1Max BuftonTofauti Everyone ActiveJ23:46.
2Jessica BuftonHafren CCWJ29:4520

Cumulative Standings after thirteen rounds


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Tomos Hales Wrekinsport CC S 182
2 Chris Riley Paramount CRT V 118
3 Jonathan Mills-Keeling Bridgnorth CC V 90
4 Ben Southgate Wrekinsport CC J 78
5 Dean Callister Revolutions Racing S 74
6 Phil Roberts Wrekinsport CC S 56
7 George Coombes Newport Shropshire CC S 52
8 Mark Stocks Newport Shropshire CC V 40
=9 Ashley Kirkham Wrekinsport CC V 36
=9 Jack Wilson Ludlow Brewery RT V 36


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Chris Riley Paramount CRT V 162
2 Helen Tudor Oswestry Paragon WV 104
3 Jonathan Mills-Keeling Bridgnorth CC V 100
4 Mark Stocks Newport Shropshire CC V 94
5 Ashley Kirkham Wrekinsport CC V 60
6 Jan Davies Hafren CC WV 54
7 Deb Hutson-Lumb Wrekinsport CC WV 50
8 Rich Smith Wrekinsport CC V 48
9 Les Boughey North Shropshire Wheelers V 46
10 Mark Hill Hafren CC V 40


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Helen Tudor Oswestry Paragon CC WV 120
2 Jan Davies Hafren CC WV 70
3 Deb Hutson-Lumb Wrekinsport CC WV 58
4 Jess Bufton Hafren CC WJ 32
5 Kathryn Rossiter North Shropshire Wheelers WV 24
=6 Hayley Wells Paramount CRT W 20
=6 Thea Osmund-Smith Paramount CRT W 20
8 Vikki Jones Oswestry Paragon CC WV 18


Position Name Club Cat Best 12
1 Ben Southgate Wrekinsport CC J 126
2 Jess Bufton Hafren CC WJ 40
3 Chester Romei Paramount CRT J 18